Church Committees

Buildings & Grounds Committee: Chair - Kim Little                                                                                           The committee shall maintain and repair the buildings and any other structure which the congregation may own for the purpose of maintaining a vibrant ministry. The Session and the congregation and plan and provide short-term and long-range landscaping programs to ensure the perpetual beauty of the buildings and grounds (church and cemetery).

Christian Education Committee: Chair - Lee Edmonds                                                                                      This committee is responsible to develop, supervise and carry out the total education ministry of the Churchville Presbyterian Church.

Cemetery Committee: Chair - Gene Umbarger                                                                                                   This committee shall be responsible for making all burial arrangements in the cemetery when contacted by funeral directors or the pastor.  (The funeral director usually contacts the Cemetery Committee Chairperson and the family of the deceased usually contacts the pastor.)  Deaths are reported to the State Department of Mental Health and Hygiene by the funeral director.

Congregational Care Committee:  Chair - Bob Muse                                                                                         This ministry works at meeting the emotional, physical and spiritual needs of the church members and neighbors.

Fellowship Committee: Chair - Louise Umbarger                                                                                               This committee provides social and outreach activities which will enable the church membership to become better acquainted with each other and also allow the community to become better acquainted with Churchville Presbyterian Church.

Historical Committee: Chair - Dean Youngberg                                                                                                  The Historical Committee is responsible for the collection, preservation and safeguarding of archives and historical artifacts.  Preservation includes proper housing and storage in addition to adherence to the Book of Order concerning preservation of records.  An appropriate area, the historical/heritage room, will be set aside to safeguard the archives and historical artifacts.  The Session will establish a collections policy for archives and historical artifacts.

Memorial Committee: Chair - Dean Youngberg                                                                                                  This committee has the responsibility to evaluate those particular memorials presented to the church, which can be in the form of monetary, property, or other tangible gifts, and shall report to the Session the nature of the gift and any specific uses provided by the giver.  The committee shall also make recommendations as to the use of non-designated gifts.

Peace Justice Mission:  Chair - Cindy Givans                                                                                                      This committee endeavors to provide the church with information and guidance concerning the issues of peace and justice as they pertain to the life of the church. They also lead the congregation in Missions both through financial support and participation in various mission activities.

Presbyterian Men: Leader - Matt Floros                                                                                                              The basic purposes of Presbyterian Men are to lead men into a vital relationship with Jesus Christ, to develop their understanding of the mission of the Church and to assist the congregation in  nurturing men of the Church to mature discipleship, to encourage men in the Church through their commitment to Christ, to fulfill the ministry to which men are called in their families, in their daily work, and in their ministry to other people in the community and the world; and to involve men of various racial/ethnic backgrounds and men of different ages.

Presbyterian Women: Leader - Joyce Carter                                                                                                       The purpose of the organization shall be to further the work of the Kingdom of God by uniting the Women of the Churchville Presbyterian Church in spiritual fellowship, with a program of education, service, prayer and giving.  The organization shall strive to fulfill the common purpose of Presbyterian Women as adopted by the National Organization of Presbyterian Women (P.W.):  Forgiven and freed by God in Jesus Christ, we commit ourselves to nurture our faith through prayer and Bible study, to support the mission of the church worldwide, to work for justice and peace, and, to build an inclusive, caring community of women that strengthens the Presbyterian Church (USA) and witnesses to the promise of God’s kingdom.


Stewardship & Finance Committee: Chair - Ron Treusdell                                                                               This committee shall endeavor to educate all members of the congregation in the true meaning of stewardship.  The committee shall be responsible for overseeing the financial affairs of the church. 

Worship & Music: Chair - Nancy Reise                                                                                                                 The committee is responsible to provide worship services which are meaningful, inspirational and Christ-centered in such a way as to make the experience applicable to each person’s life. 


  July 2021  
This Week's Events
Bible Search
Contents © 2021 Churchville Presbyterian Church • Church Website Builder by mychurchwebsite.netPrivacy Policy